2012 CHAMPS! Logger Women Make Comeback to Take the 2012 Title

Originally posted: February 12, 2012

FEDERAL Way, Wash. – The Puget Sound women came from behind to take the 2012 NWC team title, and the Whitworth men ran away with their 10th consecutive NWC title at the Weyerhaeuser King County Aquatic Center on Sunday.

After going into the final day down by eight points. Puget Sound came roaring back to take the lead on the 200 breast and hold on for the NWC team championship. The Loggers finished with 623 points, while Whitworth came in second with 606 points. Whitman took third with 506 points, and Pacific finished fourth with 375. Pacific Lutheran took fifth with 327 points, Lewis Clark took sixth with 303 points, and Linfield finished seventh with 206 points. Willamette rounded out the team scoring with 150 points.

Pacific raked in the individual awards as Alec Webster earned Coach of the Year honors and Amanda Clark took Swimmer of the Year honors. Clark took titles in the 200 free, 500 free, and the 1650 free.

The finals session opened with the 1650 free and another win for Pacific’s Amanda Clark. Clark swam an NCAA DIII Provisional time of 17:16.72 to take the gold medal. Abigail Pavelko of Whitworth also earned a B-cut with a second-place time of 17:34.83. Pacific Lutheran’s Kina Ackerman took third at 17:59.60.

Whitworth’s Katherine Duvall set a conference record with a NCAA DIII Provisional time of 2:03.50 to capture the 200 back title. Puget Sound went 2-3 in the event with Cait Farry finishing second with a 2:08.25 and Kenzie Kitson taking third at 2:08.82.

Katherine Porter took Pacific’s second win of the day in the 100 free with conference meet record and NCAA DIII Provisional time of 52.06. Aissa Stang and Jennifer Benson tied for second place with times of 53.00.

Tracy Wormwood of Puget Sound captured another school and NWC record to win the 200 breast with a NCAA DIII Provisional qualifying time of 2:18.24. Allison Clark of Pacific also recorded a B-cut with a time of 2:23.95 to place second. Claire Collins of Whitman finished third at 2:25.34.

Melissa Norrish made it two wins in a row for the Logger women with a provisional time of 2:08.11 in the 200 fly. Katie Chapman from Whitman took second, and Caitlin Fuller took third for the Loggers with a 2:12.11.

The Whitworth women wrapped up the day with a title in the 400 free relay. Jennifer Benson, Anna Case, Katherine Duvall, and Micole Lecoq combined to take the title for the Pirates. The Whitman women took second, followed by Pacific in third.

Whitworth captured its tenth consecutive men’s NWC crown with 796 points. Whitman took second with 572 points, and Pacific Lutheran took third with 500 points. Puget Sound finished in fourth with 480 points followed by Pacific with 255 points, Linfield with 231 points, Willamette with 163 points, and Lewis abd Clark with 153 points.

Whitman’s Jenn Blomme was named the men’s Coach of the Year after leading Whitman to a second-place finish. Galen Sollom-Brotherton, also of Whitman, captured the men’s Swimmer of the Year honors after winning the 500 free, 400 IM, and the 1650 free.

Whitman’s Galen Sollom-Brotherton swam a Northwest Conference record and a NCAA Automatic Qualifying time of 15:35.53 to take the men’s 1650 free title. Oliver Durand took second for Whitworth with a NCAA DIII Provisional time of 16:15.75, and Whitman’s Chris Bendix placed third at 16:31.49.

Wesley Walton kept the record-breaking day alive with a NWC Championship meet record and a B-cut of 1:50.98 to take 200 back title. Teale Kitson took second for Puget Sound with a B-cut time of 1:52.78. Pacific Lutheran’s Corban Elliott took third with a 1:55.84.

Karl Mering brought home Whitman’s second title of the day in the 100 free with a 46.18. Aaron Vaccaro of Whitworth took second at 47.32, and the Missionaries’ Mitchell T. Lee placed third at 47.60.

Last year’s NCAA DIII champion Rory Buck of Whitworth took another NWC title in the 200 breast with an automatic qualifying time of 2:02.55. Whitman’s Paul Chang took second with a 2:06.82, and Pacific’s Michael Hargitt took third with a 2:09.53.

The records continued to fall as Puget Sound’s Derek Frenzel broke his own NWC record with an automatic qualifying time of 1:50.08 in the 200 fly. Jere Jeremikj took a close second with a provisional time of 1:50.71 for the Loggers. Whitworth’s Wesley Tatum took third at 1:54.96.

Karl Mering, Mitchell Lee, Shunei Asao, and Galen Sollom-Brotherton combined to finish the day for Whitman with a NWC meet record 3:06.60 to take the 400 free relay title. The Whitworth men took second to wrap up their title run, and the Logger men finished third.

The meet concluded on Sunday, and swimmers will anxiously await the announcement of the NCAA Championship field in a few weeks.

More Athletics News


CollegeNews Story Archive

CollegeNews is now Liberal Arts Success

CollegeNews has brought you the latest information from over 125 liberal arts colleges for over ten years. Now it’s transforming into something even greater. Visit liberalartssuccess.org and learn more about the impact of liberal arts education on the individual and on society.

Visit the Liberal Arts Success website »

Search CollegeNews