National Champs: DePauw Students Win 2013 Intercollegiate Ethics Bowl

Originally posted: March 3, 2013

ethics-bowl-champs-2013bA team of DePauw University students emerged from the Seventeenth Intercollegiate Ethics Bowl Championship as the national champion.  The event took place Thursday, February 28, in San Antonio, Texas, as a part of the Association for Practical and Professional Ethics’ 2013 22nd Annual Meeting.

It was the eighth time in the last 9 years that DePauw has reached the national Ethics Bowl competition.DePauw’s winning team consisted of seniors Ben Hoffman, Alex Landreville, and Sara Scully, along with junior Ethan Brauer and December 2012 graduate Mohammad Usman. The team is coached by Marcia McKelligan, Blair Anderson and Martha Caroline Rieth Professor of Applied Ethics and professor of philosophy; and Robert Newton, professor emeritus of philosophy.

DePauw also emerged as the national champion of the Bioethics Bowl debate tournament in March 2012.

CollegeNews Story Archive

CollegeNews is now Liberal Arts Success

CollegeNews has brought you the latest information from over 125 liberal arts colleges for over ten years. Now it’s transforming into something even greater. Visit and learn more about the impact of liberal arts education on the individual and on society.

Visit the Liberal Arts Success website »

Search CollegeNews